My projects, hobbies, interests, whatever.

Slide Rules, Nomographs, and Calculators

Having been a child of the sixties (it has other implications than societal), I did not have any electronic calculating devices to get me through college and in my first jobs. Instead I used the trusty slide rule. Other devices that were used were specialized slide rules and nomographs. Later came calculators that themselves are now collector’s items.

Slide Rule

Even though I never intended to have a slide rule collection, I now do. From my first plastic slide rule to the one that got me through college and the beginnings of a career to ones that were given to me because I had slide rules already. Some samples:

K&E Deci-Lon Sliderule
The slide rule that got me through college.

Smith Chart Slide Rule
A Smith Chart slide rule that got me through one of my first jobs.

The whole collection is here.
The Flickr slide rule group here

One response

  1. Wow. The Smith Chart is awesome!!!!

    April 12, 2010 at 12:15 am

Leave a Reply

